The Country

I’m so excited, I’m leaving this big ugly city for the country to do a day long retreat of yoga, meditation, and to eat good food with good people.

My friend Kay has been teaching Yoga for decades and left practicing Law for a modest life as a Yoga teacher. She saved up her pennies and bought what was a beat up old shack with an awesome view, in the part of Texas known as The Hill Country, known for its … hills! But even more than that, The Hill Country has beautiful open vistas, trees, horses, cattle, and yes, big Texas size ranches. This area of Texas is quite wonderful and very special.

I like visiting Kay in her small modest house, with its porch swing overlooking a big acreage of land. I love her home’s simplicity – and the quiet that surrounds it. You hear the wind blow. I love the wind! Kay recently converted the big barn out back into a Yoga studio and I’m excited to practice in the barn today. I am grateful for the blessings that await me. Thank you, Lord.

There are dogs and dirt roads in this neck of the woods. Stars at night. And in the Springtime, there are bluebonnets everywhere. Beautiful wild flowers native to Texas, grow in patches of blue, orange, red, and yellow. In the Fall, there are cooler temperatures and sunny carefree days.

It is good for the soul to be close to nature. It calms the nervous system down when we have the privilege to get away from highways, stores, radio, TV, and our “beloved” cell phones.

To be able to unwind seems like a luxury, pure decadence. When in truth – it’s more about saving one’s sanity.

Life has been so crazy. Too much stuff to do and manage. Too many people to figure out. Too many emotions coursing through me.

To be able to slow down, breathe, get quiet, and go deep is a HUGE blessing.

I wish you a day of joy. However, you choose to make that manifest. Breathe beauty into yourself. Exhale negativity. Breathe in peace, exhale stress and tension. Breathe in love, exhale hate.

20131110-174250.jpg

20131110-204150.jpg

About ishamisha

I am a mix of so many things, I can't begin to narrow it down, but I can tell you that I have equal opposites living inside me: calm and crazy, quiet and loud, serious and humorous, formal and casual. I'm big on showing love, and I have issues with myself and others...LOL. All my various personality traits will reveal themselves on this blog...just wait, and you'll see what I'm talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment