Matthew 7:12

Do for others what you would like them to do for you.

Mmm mmm mmm. Things that make you go hmmmm.

How many times has someone been rude or nasty to you, and you want to be the same way back? Or what about the person who cuts you off while you’re driving, which nearly causes an accident and you just want to shoot them? I will never forget almost getting killed by another motorist who ran a red light in a big intersection and when I pulled over to calm my shaking body, they yelled at me as if it was my fault they broke the law and nearly ended my life by their utter stupidity!

Lately, I have been unfairly treated by someone. I have watched my mind go through a series of ways I want to retaliate for this unfairness – all really good evil ways to get them back! Hmmm. I’m laughing at my wickedness because my mind does not always go in the direction of forgiveness or love – nope – I want that person to pay for what they have done.

Deep breath in.

But when I can come back to a place of sanity, where I perceive them through the eyes of mercy, I see that they are just like me – imperfectly perfect, sensitive, emotional, a person who wants to protect themselves from pain by withdrawing. They may not behave in a way I appreciate or accept, but if I look deeply, I know they are doing what I would do. So how can I not forgive them, when if the situation was reversed, I would need and ask their forgiveness, their understanding, their love?

I am in no way saying it is easy to forgive or to turn the other cheek, or to live from a place of love.

My natural instinct is to attack / react / cause pain when someone else’s behavior causes suffering within me. But where does that lead ultimately? It leads to people hurting each other, creating more pain and separation, instead of coming closer and healing.

About ishamisha

I am a mix of so many things, I can't begin to narrow it down, but I can tell you that I have equal opposites living inside me: calm and crazy, quiet and loud, serious and humorous, formal and casual. I'm big on showing love, and I have issues with myself and others...LOL. All my various personality traits will reveal themselves on this blog...just wait, and you'll see what I'm talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Matthew 7:12

  1. jasonjshaw says:

    You have to realize that this person’s actions toward you reflect on how they act in general. People all around this person will see their actions, and that awareness will help determine their actions towards the person. It all comes around full circle.

    The big thing is that you have to realize is that every person on this planet is trying the best that they know how to. Instead of retaliation, maybe you should take more of a questioning tone and try to understand why this person acts in the way they do. People don’t just act the way they do out of nowhere. It all comes from somewhere.

Leave a Reply

