Ephesians 4:26

“Don’t sin by letting anger gain control of you.”

In other words, when you are angry, do not sin. When you feel anger, it is not sin – but how you handle this feeling can lead to sin.

Ephesians 4:27 “for anger gives a mighty foothold to the Devil.”

To me this verse means the Devil has you right where he wants you when the feeling of anger arises – you’re all stirred up over something (or more than likely, someone) and the enemy is prompting you / egging you on to ACT on those strong powerful feelings. Go ahead, REACT!!! You have steam coming out of your ears, you might as well give that person a piece of your mind. Do it! Now’s the perfect time to yell and curse and tell ’em off.

I say: Don’t take the bait!! Breathe. Don’t give in. Get a good strong grip on yourself, and hold onto your peace. Now please understand, if someone is physically abusing you that is a whole different thing entirely and you have every single right to remove yourself from that abusive situation in any way you need to.

The anger I’m talking about is what comes up when someone cuts you off in traffic, or when your feelings get hurt, or when you’re waiting for somebody to arrive and they are very late and dinner is now very cold.

God is working on me in this area – I am being asked to deeply examine what I do when I FEEL anger. There is so much to say on this topic; 1) I don’t know where to begin and 2) It’s going to very tough to admit some or all of the ways this emotion has controlled me for such a long time. Probably, ever since I was two.

It’s time for me to pray for guidance in this area. Pray for help. Pray for healing.

I need to learn how to be steady when the storms come and I want to learn how to not be moved / swayed / taken down by this emotion.

I would like to study the Bible and search the areas that specifically talk about anger.

I say this with utter sincerity and as a deep prayer for us all: Go in peace.

About ishamisha

I am a mix of so many things, I can't begin to narrow it down, but I can tell you that I have equal opposites living inside me: calm and crazy, quiet and loud, serious and humorous, formal and casual. I'm big on showing love, and I have issues with myself and others...LOL. All my various personality traits will reveal themselves on this blog...just wait, and you'll see what I'm talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

